SAHR Templer Medal Shortlist Announced

Monday 16th March 2020

The Society for Army Historical Research is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2019 SAHR Templer Medal and best first book prize competition.

For the Templer Medal:
Ian Beckett, Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana (OUP)
Peter Caddick-Adams, Sand and Steel: The D-Day Invasion and the Liberation of France (Hutchinson)
Jonathan Fennell, Fighting the People's War: The British & Commonwealth Armies and the Second World War (CUP)
James Holland, Normandy '44: D-Day and the Battle for France (Bantam)
Matthew Hughes, Britain's Pacification of Palestine: The British Army, the Colonial State and the Arab Revolt 1936-9 (CUP)

For the Templer Best First Book Prize:
Charles Barne (editor) Churchill's Colonel: The War Diaries of Lieutenant Colonel Anthony Barne (Pen and Sword)
Tom Greenshields, Those Bloody Kilts: The Highland Soldier in the Great War (Helion)
Frances Houghton, The Veterans' Tale: British Military Memoirs of the Second World War (CUP)
William Heap, Elizabeth's French Wars 1562-98 (Unicorn)
Ian Mitchell, The Battle of the Peaks and Long Stop Hill: Tunisia, April-May 1943 (Helion)
Chandar Sundaram, Indianization, the Officer Corps, and the Indian Army: The Forgotten Debate, 1817-1917 (Lexington)

More information about the Templer Medal competition is available here.


All Reports