SAHR Fiction Prize Winners announced

Saturday 26th October 2019

Congratulations to the winners of SAHR's inaugural prize for military fiction, awarded on Saturday 26 October at the Malvern Military History Festival. First place went to Allan Mallinson for his book 'The Passage to India', the latest instalment in his Mathew Hervey series of novels. The runner-up was Vee Walker for her debut novel 'Major Tom's War' about an officer of Indian cavalry during the Great War.

The full shortlist was:

Lynn Bryant, An Unwilling Alliance, Self-Published
Peter Doyle, Percy: A Story of 1918, Uniform/Unicorn
Allan Mallinson, The Passage to India, Bantam
Robert Radcliffe, The Bridge, Head of Zeus
Vee Walker, Major Tom’s War, Kashi House

The standard of the entries was very high; selecting both a shortlist and the ultimate winners proved challenging.

We hope to make the Fiction Prize an annual competition and will offer an update about our future plans in due course.

All Reports