SAHR Templer Medal Shortlist Announced

Thursday 7th March 2019

The Society for Army Historical Research is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2018 SAHR Templer Medal and best first book prize competition.


For the Medal, the finalists are:

Prof Ian Beckett with A British Profession of Arms: The Politics of Command in the Late Victorian Army (Oklahoma UP)

Prof Helen Parr with Our Boys: The Story of a Paratrooper (Allen Lane/Penguin)

Prof Douglas Delaney with The Imperial Army Project: Britain and the Land Forces of the Dominions and India, 1902-1945 (OUP)


For the best first book prize, the finalists are:

Lieut-Gen Sir Cedric Delves with Across an Angry Sea: The SAS in the Falklands War (Hurst)

Col Alison Hine with Refilling Haig’s Armies: The Replacement of British Infantry Casualties on the Western Front (Helion)

Dr Aimée Fox with Learning to Fight: Military Innovation and Change in the British Army 1914-18 (CUP)

The winners will be announced at SAHR's Annual Members Meeting on 9 April 2019 at the National Army Museum. Members can find out more about the AMM and register a place here.

More information about the Templer Medal competition is available here.

All Reports