2018 Annual Members' Meeting

Tuesday 24th April 2018

The 2018 Annual Members Meeting took place on 24th April at the RAF Museum at Hendon. It began with a guided tour of the Museum led by a Society member. The Annual General Meeting then followed; the draft Minutes are posted on the AGM page. Afterwards, Air Vice-Marshal Peter Dye marked the RAF's centenary with a lecture exploring the personalities in the Headquarters of the Royal Flying Corps (the British Army's air arm) before the creation of the Royal Air Force on 1 April 1918. The evening was concluded with the presentation of prizes for the Templer Medal and the Best First Book on Military History, followed by a wine reception.


The results for the SAHR Templer Medal were as follows:

Winner: Waterloo: the Campaign of 1815, by John Hussey (Pen & Sword)

Joint second place: These Meritorious Objects of the Royal Bounty: The Chelsea Out-Pensioners in the Early Eighteenth Century, by Andrew Cormack (Privately Published) and Vimy: The Battle and the Legend, by Tim Cook (Penguin Canada)

Fourth place:  Triumph at Imphal-Kohima. How the Indian Army Finally Stopped the Japanese Juggernaut by Raymond A. Callahan (University Press of Kansas)


The results for the SAHR Templer Best First Book Prize were as follows:

Winner:  The Fear of Invasion: Strategy, Politics, and British War Planning, 1880-1914, by David G. Morgan-Owen (Oxford University Press)

Second Place:  Soldiers and Gentlemen: Australian Battalion Commanders in the Great War, 1914–1918, by William Westerman (Cambridge University Press)

Third Place: The Yeomanry Cavalry and Military Identities in Rural Britain, 1815–1914, by George Hay (Palgrave Macmillan)

Fourth Place:  Captives of War: British Prisoners of War in Europe in the Second World War, by Clare Makepeace (Cambridge University Press)

All Reports