Field Marshal Sir Gerald Templer KG (1898-1979)

The Society runs a number of annual competitions to reward excellence in historical research on the British Army in all its branches and aspects.

Templer Medal Book Prize

The Templer Medal was established by The Society for Army Historical Research in 1981 to commemorate the life and achievements of Field Marshal Sir Gerald Templer KG (1898-1979) (pictured) and to mark his Presidency of the Society between 1965 and 1979.

The medal is awarded annually to the author of the book published during that year that has made the most significant contribution to the history of the British Army, as defined in the Templer competition rules, set out here. The presentation of the award takes place at the Society's Annual General Meeting, usually in April of the year following publication.

Unsolicited books received by the Templer Medal Book Prize sub-committee will be examined for inclusion, but will not necessarily form part of the short list of 'called in' books to be read for the competition. Publishers are urged therefore to submit catalogues of appropriate material to the TBA.

It is customary that the Patron of the Society Field Marshal HRH The Duke of Kent, KG awards the silver medal to the winner. There is usually a cash award attached to the Medal.

Subsidiary prize for best first book

To encourage new authors, under the umbrella of the Templer Medal the Society awards a subsidiary prize for the best first book. For this prize, edited volumes, co-authored books and monographs are discounted by the judges, who will consider only sole authored and substantial works.